Zombie timelapse

This entry was posted by Roberto Roch.

18 thoughts on “Zombie timelapse

  1. Sexy! Did you have a specific look in mind, or did you just think “zombie” and then freestyle this? And I’m always curious with all you sculptors, what signs do you look for to know that it’s finally okay to break symmetry with the rest of the sculpt? Just because that milestone seems like a point of no return.

    • Thanks!

      I google’d some zombie images before sculpting, there’s one that gave me the idea for the mouth, but I didn’t follow any reference closely.

      And, about breaking symmetry.
      I don’t do it that much, and yes, it’s quite a point of no return. I usually break it once most of the features are already sculpted. In this case, I broke it when I wanted to start focusing on the expression and adding scars/cuts to the skin.

  2. Amazing work, I was wondering. I notice your cursor shows up as a red dot and the size outline conforms to your mesh. Is this some thing with a tablet (which I do not currently own) or a setting in blender that can be tweaked to get rid of the white arrow? I also wondered if you have your theme posted anywhere I could download? I like the “lighter” UI.

    BTW – Love this mountain of minutes blog, a great big thanks to all of you who post your work…

      • Many thx for watching us on Blenderclan. I’m sure Manollo will be pleased. Your works are so inspiring four us all !

  3. Great work on this, you’re a talented man.
    But
    You’re losing your time and spending your talent with this app. Tools great behavior is all we need, zb tools, or even better, sculptris tools. Blender sculpting mode is for tweaking after some render tests. Blender provides a great retopo tool as well. My advice, sculptris and retopo in blender. Some fine adjustments then, UVs and possibly baking in blender, this only.

    • Wow, thanks Michalis. That means a lot coming from such a good sculptor as yourself.

      After trying Zbrush, I guess I can see your point about losing my time with Blender’s sculpt mode. Their tools are more polished, and there’s tons more of them to use. And I guess it’d be easier to get a job using Z.

      But

      Last time I’ve tried Sculptris with Wine, shortcuts didn’t work, making the experience very frustrating. I don’t have a Windows license, nor the money to buy it, and the same goes for Zbrush when my trial expires. So, the only ‘real’ option I have is Blender.

      I’ve started sculpting in orto view, on a non-smoothed mesh, with the clay strips tool from the onion branch; and if you compare my first Zbrush try, and this Zombie video, I think you’ll see the mesh behaves in a very similar way in both packages.
      Of course that’s just one tool, and doesn’t mean Blender is on equal ground, but I’m happy sculpting with it.

  4. Some good reasons to use blender then.
    I did some tests recently in blender sculpt mode, jumping in edit mode all the time. A nice way to have a decent base mesh I would say.

    New sculptris has two navigation and shortcuts mode. The default is zb mode. Maybe this works in wine. BTW you don’t need to go high in resolution as you’ll retopo fast in blender and do fine details there.

    • I downloaded the last alpha of Sculptris but never tried it, it must somewhere in my downloads folder 😀 I’ll give it a try.

      I think I get it now, your main problem with Blender is basemesh creation? If so, yes, no way Blender can beat Sculptris, or Zspheres.

  5. Why not? Blender is great for basemeshes. All my older work is done this way (before 3dc or sculptris). Just reminding the venus statue with temple scene, all in blender except details in zbrush. I could start in 3dcoat and the excellent retopo tools there. Just imagine me trying to retopo all these fingers in a difficult pose. No T poses in this case, impossible to understand ancient sculpting this way.
    I just did a base mesh in blender with all topology I need, I also made groups that are really helpful in zbrush etc.
    About zspheres, well I prefer the topology of the b-spheres (skin modifier).
    But I mostly prefer the freedom of dynamic tessellation and retopo after.
    Especially when I sculpt portraits. This is easy for retopo after all, 10 mins mostly.
    It’s the great tools of sculptris the most important for me, I hope it will run smoothly on wine, so you’ll lose your night sleep for the next month LOL
    cheers Roberto.

    • I know you love how Sculptris and 3dcoat lets you create without thinking topology, I feel the same way, that’s why I said that. 🙂
      About Zspheres, I was thinking…they’re called zspheres2, I like how you can draw a lot of form directly with them, I have no idea about the topo they generate.
      Both ways seem faster then classic modelling with Blender.
      I like the skin modifier, although I only tried the old version, and there’s things like fingers that I haven’t been able to build with it.
      I’m mostly thinking about rapid concept creation for this, my approach with Blender so far has been to use simple subsurfed cubes for that, but dynamic tessellation gives a lot more freedom.
      I haven’t tried to go into edit mode while sculpting, half the times I tried I lost what I sculpted and got scared off it. Is it more stable now?
      Also hoping Sculptris works fine with Wine, I won’t mind losing sleep for it 😀
      Cheers.

  6. “I like how you can draw a lot of form directly with them, I have no idea about the topo they generate.”
    Terrible topology IMO, not for me. The key in 3d sculpting is topology. Not exactly the one animators are asking. This last is somehow different. But a topology that helps brush flowing, this is what we need. An evenly subdivided mesh, flowing around eyes, ears etc. A topology, easy to UV it, to capture great displacement maps. A workflow that makes possible to capture bumps, exactly at the subdivided level you gonna transfer in the render engine.
    Let’s say, fourth level subdivisions + displacement, then from this point, a second bump map for fine details. (having cycles in mind).
    I believe in fast topology for this reason: Using the same typical base mesh for portraits leads somehow to similar sculpting style. It’s somehow predictable. This is what I want to avoid.
    Though your excellent video capture wasn’t so. An exception.

    • “A topology, easy to UV it, to capture great displacement maps. A workflow that makes possible to capture bumps, exactly at the subdivided level you gonna transfer in the render engine.”

      Agree, that’s what I like about this base mesh I’ve been using lately. It has a great topology for this kind of busts.

      And, I understand why you want to avoid that kind of pre-made mesh, and get usable topology fast and appropriate to what you want to sculpt.

Leave a Reply

